Home Page

Early Years

EYFS Statement of Intent


At Pinders we value the importance of early year’s provision and do not underestimate the impact that quality teaching in the Early Years can have on the future learning journey of our children. High expectations from the start help embed the school’s ethos and the school aims to equip children with the skills and abilities needed for them to achieve success at every stage in their education.

Overview of EYFS Curriculum


In Early Years we follow the statutory framework for children aged 0 to 5 called the Early Years Foundation Stage. The curriculum is split into 7 areas of learning –


1.Communication & Language
2.Physical Development
3.Personal, Social & Emotional Development

6.Understanding the World
7.Expressive Arts and Design


At Pinders Primary we use the Development Matters non-statutory curriculum guidance to shape our EYFS curriculum alongside a whole school approach in creating a broad and balanced curriculum. 


At the end of Foundation Stage children are assessed using the Foundation Stage profile. 

In 2019, 69% of children leaving Foundation Stage at Pinders Primary achieved a 'good level of development' (the national area average in 2019 was 72%). We have no published data for 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic.

At Pinders Primary we have two Reception classes named Lions and Tigers and a Nursery know as Cubs. Please take some time to take a virtual tour of the learning environments and check out the class pages where you will found out more information. 

Useful Information for parents